Home > News > Interesting Thought Experiment… Am I Brainwashed?

Interesting Thought Experiment… Am I Brainwashed?

February 10, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Last week, I was having a discussion with a friend of mine concerning a news story that we had seen.  Think about this:

A doctor walks into a hospital.  He heads to the maternity ward, where newborns are placed.  As he passed each child, he pulls out a scalpel and kills each one.  Infant after infant is killed remorselessly with surgical precision.

Along comes a person, who hearing what was going on, grabs a broom handle, runs into the room and hits him, killing the doctor instantly, but stopping his killing spree.

Is the person who stopped this a hero?  I would say so, even though, technically, killing the doc is illegal too.

Now, replace it with an abortion doctor.  The scenario is strikingly similar.  Defenseless victims.  Surgically killed by a doctor.  Especially when it’s a late term that would be viable outside the womb.  The child is just a few inches from being pulled completely out of the womb and being a newborn.  They are not considered a newborn by a simple technicality.

Scott Roeder ran into that clinic and killed Doctor Tiller, stopping his killing.

Here’s the thing.  I am not sure how you are thinking right now, but the first thing my mind did was say, “well they are very different.  You can’t defend Scott’s actions”.  Yet as I look at them, they are not.

I still can’t wrap my head around defending Scott Roeder in any way, but how is it so completely different?  Why to they equate as completely different to me, morally?

I am not what I consider Pro-Life or Pro-Choice.  I think that Roe vs. Wade needs to be overturned because its just bad “law”.  Let the states decide on it.

As I thought about this, I realized that my moral compass has been subverted.  Why can I, in my mind, praise the person who stopped the killer in one instance, but condemn them in the other?  How does the term “abortion” manage to make it ok?

If the law said it was ok to kill any child who was under the age of 1 year old who the mother didn’t want, no one would accept it.

Why is this different?  More importantly, why do I see them as different?

  1. February 10, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    You’re not brainwashed. What you are is recognizing the sanctity of human life, no matter what the form.

    The term abortion supposedly makes it okay because by this, they avoid using the term ‘murder.’ It’s breaking down morals, much in the same way that they call an unborn baby a ‘fetus’ as opposed to simply calling it a baby. This supposedly makes it easier for women to get past the moral issues that come with having an abortion. If you can say “It’s just a lump of tissue” instead of “It’s an unborn child” then that apparently makes it O.K. to get an abortion, even though it isn’t. By the fourth week of the pregnancy, the ‘fetus’ has a heartbeat.

    This doesn’t make what Scott Roeder did right; murder in any form is always wrong. But it does make one wonder, how many baby’s lives did Roeder save? I’m not saying this to be callous or to say that I think what Roeder did was right. It’s just an interesting question to ponder.

    Anyway, I hope this helps.

  2. ayfs
    February 10, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    But that’s just it. I understand the sanctity of life. I respect that an unborn fetus is an infant and a life. I understand this on a logical level.

    What just amazes me is that on an emotional level, we as a nation have lowered the import of abortion to the point that we can easily accept it as a medical procedure and not murder.

    Especially when we talk about late term abortion. They pull the baby partially out and kill the child. A few more inches and the baby is alive and viable. A few inches or a slip of doctor’s grip should not determine if its murder or a “procedure”.

    But even this isn’t really the question. The question is why, in all of our minds, is this person a “doctor” and not a murderer?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

