Home > News > ‘Negro’ Race Choice On Census Form Sparks Outrage. United Negro College Fund Is Fine Though, I Guess

‘Negro’ Race Choice On Census Form Sparks Outrage. United Negro College Fund Is Fine Though, I Guess

I guess “Negro” is ok if they are giving money out, right?

Seriously, what is the criteria for when a word is not PC?  I have heard black people get offended, saying “does my skin look black”.  My reply is “No.  Does mine look white?”

You can call me a pink skinned person, light skinned, white, whatever.  Why the hell should I care.  It’s not a derogatory term, nor is “negro”, “black”, African-American” whatever.

Racism is not a word, it’s an intent.  Black people call each other “nigga” and other terms that would get a white person vilified forever?  That’s what keeps racism alive. 

Get over it and grow up.  You want to insult me?  Call me a “Anglo-Saxon” or “Euro-American”.  I am an American first.  Anything after that is just a descriptor.

I am so sick of the PC world.  I am an AMERICAN.  I am defined by my actions and myself, not by some label you put on me because of my skin color.  When everyone realizes that and leaves kindergarten (aka liberalism), racism goes away.  It’s stupid crap like this that keeps fanning the flames.

A fiery blast from the past is conjuring controversy in the new millennium. The word "negro" is now featured on an official U.S. document and now many are questioning if the Census Bureau is being insensitive.
It’s a word that many African Americans associate with segregation, so imagine how shocked many were to see it on the 2010 U.S. census form.
"The fact that it’s 2010 and they’re still putting ‘negro,’ I am a little offended," said Secaucus resident Dawud Ingram.
Question #9 on the this year’s census asks about your race. One of the boxes you can choose is "black," "African American," or "negro," all placed next to the same box. Ingram said it’s not a word he uses to identify neither himself nor anybody else.

‘Negro’ Race Choice On Census Form Sparks Outrage – wcbstv.com

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

